interpellation

old macau street©papa osmubal

old macau street©papa osmubal

interpellation
christopher ‘kit’ kelen

wishing to be
alleywise appraised
of each secret
and the unseen of public thoughts
I stand
sententious blaze of eye
in the authentic streets
the gaze on me

I am pure there
dogs know it
the doors shrink
every shadow lengthens

still in its heat
the day hails me
monosyllabic

like girls on the Rua Nova do Commercio
say ‘sleep’
meaning something restless for money

I could rub in those great soul silences
I’d be the stethoscope seeking out affect

likewise the pressed meat men and girls
hail me
each to his own prosthesis

the bus home has my number
the light electric a playful accomplice

all acknowledge
the dusty hat man
lacking words
the street must know by hear

—-

Leave a Reply

