heartprints

chinese painting? ©papa osmubal

chinese painting? ©papa osmubal


heartprints

li nan

                     translated by Huichun (Amy) Liang and Steven Schroeder

Mama says “poet”
A wind flower snow moon feeling species
Most do not deserve the name–
Especially in this age.

But Mama! I’ve fallen in love with
This art handed down for such a long time
I follow it not for hope of making money, eking out a living, or changing
My destiny.

I love it because when it opens its joyful lips
There is at once a miracle in the human world.
And I need to stand in the eternal light of mid-year
Speaking for the gods.

Mama, I’ve just fallen in love with this
Sailor’s ship, this hero’s sword
I love this magical language more than
Flaubert loves his insects.

Leave a Reply

