dukka*

your shadow testifies ©papa osmubal

your shadow testifies ©papa osmubal


dukka*

adam aitken

It came as a surprise, most of all to me,
to have come this close
to some mad gangster’s idea
of a ritual sacrifice.
All hot breath, blood, a scratch
that might separate forever
my mind from my throat.
Not what I expected
and once I was gone
what man left would defend
my bones from a scavenging pariah?

Put all this down
to my excessive love
of champagne, steak, ghazals, hashish –
in this life I walked through
like a Prince of arcades,
blindly unafraid
through the streets –
not life previous

which was even more
stunningly decked out
in luxury without end,
paid for,
debt free –
or so I had thought.


* This is a reworking of Michelle Cahill’s poem ‘Bangkok Dawn‘. (– Adam Aitken)

Leave a Reply

