of death

chinese tomb ©papa osmubal

chinese tomb ©papa osmubal


of death

lili han

my plane crashed
death’s process consisting of–
first, witnesses the disappearance of the body
then the dignity
that moment, my existence
fragmented memory
of those who know me

this living in others lets me fear
lets me doubt
the fact I’ve ever lived

right at the moment before the crash
you joked
at the moment we were talking
there were still half a million people in the sky
but what your wide-open eyes mirrored
was only my complete image

this complete image made me believe
I once lived whole

prepared to die at any time

Leave a Reply

