macau and taipa

new macau-taipa bridge ©papa osmubal

new macau-taipa bridge ©papa osmubal

macao and taipa
song zijiang (chris song zijiang)

heavy mist presses down to the sea
the three bridges are invisible

the bus bumbles forth
to one of the bridges
the two shores are invisible

thirty years ago when
the first bridge was still under construction
a poet got it down

left it in a poem
fixed it in that moment

there are thirty years between two shores
I tried to get across
the longer I walk
the farther Macao seems to me

the mist is still here
though when I look to it closely
the mist too is invisible

it’s time for me to turn back

I’m still on the bus
hand grasps the handrail firmly
wordlessly

Leave a Reply

