sonnet

dusk ©papa osmubal

dusk ©papa osmubal

sonnet
luis de camões

When the fading sun begins to show
the world the calm of twilight
I go walking along a lonely beach
imagining the one who hurts me most.

Here I saw her, gathering her hair,
there she put her hand to her lovely face,
here she talked happily, and there grew serious,
now standing still, and now walking along.

Here she was stirred a bit, and there more proud,
here she got sad, and there she laughed aloud…
here she sat down, and there she looked at me,

lifting up those eyes of hers, so pure.
And so in these exhausted thoughts of love
I spend my empty life, that will not end.

Leave a Reply

