memory

memory ©papa osmubal

memory ©papa osmubal


memory

lili han

it was a day of the yichou year
the total solar eclipse passed the Yangtze river
raining, the Jasmine Lane of Pingkiang old city
a coffee where memory post cards are offered
a two-pataca coin stuck on the abacus
the boss said it could bring good luck

I asked for a cup of silk-stockings tea with milk
chose a postcard
with little stone bridge over flowing stream
the addressee was me of one month later
who would return to the office
I would paste it on the wall beside my desk
let it be my occasional memory
I would look at the handwriting on the card
picking up a logical mistake
which I hadn’t intended

this strange error had to do with the total eclipse
my dark mood in the daytime
brings the future close

Leave a Reply

